Module 5 – 8

Module 5: Operations

This module provides a general introduction to operations management covering the production and delivery of goods and services. You will learn to observe and analyze an organization from a systems as well as a process-perspective. Thereby, you will learn to design, operate, and improve the systems that deliver goods and services through OM models including lean management, forecasting, optimization and decision analysis. Ultimately, this course aims to familiarize students with the major operational issues that confront managers, and provide them with the basic language, concepts, insights, and analytical tools to deal with these issues.

(Type of examination: Exam)

Prof. Dr. Christoph M. Flath, Julius-Maximilians University Würzburg

Module 6: Empirics and Data Sciences

This course focuses on how to collect and analyze data to help solve business problems. In the first part, it explains different data sources and data types and shows how digitalization can help in collecting this data. Participants will also learn the basics on study design for in-depth analysis of specific business problems using empirical research. In the second part, methods for describing and analyzing data are presented, including standard but also modern data science approaches in machine learning.

(Type of examination: Exam)

Prof. Dr. Jella Pfeiffer, Justus-Liebig University Gießen

Module 7: Project Management and Digital Transformation

Digitalization is one of the central strategic challenges for established companies. “Project Management & Digital Transformation” is a fast-paced, case-driven introduction to effective management and implementation of digitalization projects in large organizations. This course provides the necessary understanding of how to use projects to bring about digital transformation and equip students with the necessary tools to set them up and run them successfully. We will touch on classic as well as digital project management tools and apply them to real life problems.

(Type of examination: Term paper)

Dr. Tobias Waldenmaier, Mercedes-Benz Digital Business Development

Module 8: Human Resource Management

This course will enable students to understand Human Resource Management as a key instrument in shaping corporate success. The course covers both classic HR topics such as compensation, recruiting and performance management as well as subjects that have become more important on company's HR agendas more recently such as people analytics, talent management and insights from pschology and behavioral economics. In tackling these topics, the course takes a mutlidisciplinary perspective, combining academic foundations with implications for practice and industry case studies.

(Type of examination: Term paper)

Dr. Daniel Herbold, HeidelbergCement

Modul 5 – 8

Modul 5: Operations & Information Management

Dieses Modul bietet eine allgemeine Einführung in das Operation Management, das die Produktion und Lieferung von Waren und Dienstleistungen umfasst. Die Teilnehmenden lernen, eine Organisation sowohl aus einer System- als auch aus einer Prozessperspektive zu erfassen und zu analysieren. Dabei lernen sie, die Systeme zu entwerfen, zu betreiben und zu verbessern, die Waren und Dienstleistungen über OM-Modelle liefern, einschließlich Lean Management, Prognose, Optimierung und Entscheidungsanalyse. Übergeordnetes Ziel dieses Kurses ist es, die Teilnehmenden mit den wichtigsten Fragestellungen im OM, mit denen Führungskräfte konfrontiert werden, vertraut zu machen und ihnen die Grundsprache, Konzepte, Einsichten und analytischen Werkzeuge zum Umgang mit dieser Fragestellung zur Verfügung zu stellen.

(Prüfungsform: Klausur)

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Christoph M. Flath, Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg

Modul 6: Empirics and Data Sciences

Im Fokus des Kurses steht das Sammeln und Analysieren von Daten zur Lösung von Geschäftsproblemen. Im ersten Teil werden verschiedene Datenquellen und Datentypen erläutert und gezeigt, wie Digitalisierung bei der Datenerfassung helfen kann. Die Teilnehmenden lernen auch die Grundlagen zum Design von Studien für die tief greifende Analyse einzelner Geschäftsprobleme mittels empirischer Forschung kennen. Im zweiten Teil werden Methoden zur Beschreibung und Auswertung von Daten vorgestellt, einschließlich standardisierter aber auch moderner datenwissenschaftlicher Ansätze im maschinellen Lernen.

(Prüfungsform: Hausarbeit)

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jella Pfeiffer, Justus-Liebig Universität Gießen

Modul 7: Project Management

Die Digitalisierung ist eine der zentralen strategischen Herausforderungen für etablierte Unternehmen. Der Kurs“ Projektmanagement & Digitale Transformation" ist eine fokussierte, fallorientierte Einführung in das effektive Management und die Umsetzung von Digitalisierungsprojekten in großen Unternehmen. Dieser Kurs vermittelt das notwendige Verständnis dafür, wie man Projekte nutzen kann, um die digitale Transformation herbeizuführen. Die Teilnehmenden werden mit den notwendigen Werkzeugen ausgestattet, um diese aufzusetzen und erfolgreich durchzuführen. Es werden sowohl klassische als auch digitale Projektmanagement-Tools aufgegriffen und auf reale Probleme angewendet.

(Prüfungsform: Hausarbeit)

Dr. Tobias Waldenmaier, Mercedes-Benz Digital Business Development

Modul 8: Human Resource Management

Dieser Kurs befähigt die Studierenden, Human Resource Management als zentrales Instrument zur Gestaltung des Unternehmenserfolges zu verstehen. Der Kurs umfasst sowohl klassische HR-Themen wie Vergütung, Recruiting und Performance Management als auch Themen, die in jüngster Zeit auf der Personalagenda des Unternehmens an Bedeutung gewonnen haben, wie People Analytics, Talent Management und Erkenntnisse aus der Psychologie und Verhaltensökonomie. Bei der Auseinandersetzung mit diesen Themen verfolgt der Kurs eine interdisziplinäre Perspektive und kombiniert akademische Grundlagen mit Implikationen für Praxis- und Industrie-Fallstudien.

(Prüfungsform: Hausarbeit)

Dr. Daniel Herbold, Fresenius Medical Care